Home > Game Recaps, MLB > Red Sox Game 51 recap: Kluber? I hardly know ‘er!

Red Sox Game 51 recap: Kluber? I hardly know ‘er!

Highest WPA: Jacoby Ellsbury, .590 (2-5, 2B, 2 RBI, SB)
Lowest WPA: Mike Napoli, -.165 (0-4, 3 K, RBI)

Unearned runs, or differentiating them from earned runs – or, for that matter, measuring starters by runs rather than component stats – are pretty overrated. Nonetheless, Goog’s complete disdain for Felix Doubront met with failure today; the worst starter on the Red Sox (spoiler alert: this stopped being true by the time I finished writing this blog!) recorded a “quality start,” going 6 innings and allowing only two “earned” runs. Far more important, he walked just two batters while ringing up eight strikeouts, and made it through six innings on 112 pitches to one of the league’s best lineups.

But quality starts aren’t the only meaningless pitching stat for the day! Corey Kluber, who outdueled Doubront (and brought his own ERA under 5) and kept the Sox from ever getting much momentum going (aside from an Ellsbury-killed rally that will now be forgotten in favor of one big appearance in the 9th) went 6 2/3 to get a no-decision! Craig Breslow had an ERA of 4.50 for the game, but won it!
At least when baseball’s superficial numbers seem arbitrary and dumb, we can turn to Jose Iglesias, who finally had a hitless game.

Lest anyone feel too optimistic after taking three of four from a strong offensive team, tomorrow’s contest will be started by Alfredo Aceves; Clay Buchholz has what I’m going to assume turns out to be shoulder AIDS.

Categories: Game Recaps, MLB Tags:
  1. May 26, 2013 at 6:53 PM

    I may or may not have listened to the last half inning of the game on the radio as I drove home. I may or may not have spent the entire time from Drew’s AB to Ellsbury’s walkoff praying to the most powerful deity I know. I may or may not have promised that deity certain things that I really wasn’t prepared to deliver on, because I didn’t expect my prayers to actually be answered. So…fine. I owe you a Femto.

    If Ace has a quality start tomorrow I’ll eat my hat.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

