Home > NFL > The obligatory last-minute NFL predictions post

The obligatory last-minute NFL predictions post

I think I’ve done this every year since I started blogging: Completely forget to make NFL picks until the last possible minute. Let’s go through the divisions real quick, then I’ll make some bad predictions for Week 1:

AFC East
New England
New York
Miami
Buffalo

The Jets’ collapse potential is enormous, but they also scare the crap out of me. Not enough to say that they’re going to win the division, but I do think they’ll at least contend for one of the Wild Card spots. I’ll believe the Pats’ defense doesn’t suck when I see it.

AFC North
Baltimore
Pittsburgh
Cincinnati
Cleveland

Pity the Browns. Their inept management is turning over the offense to a 77-year-old rookie, and on top of that the league is forcing them to honor the memory of Art Modell. I hope the fans boo his moment of silence out of the building; it will be the first in a long series of boo-worthy moments for Cleveland this year.

AFC South
Houston
Tennessee
Indianapolis
Jacksonville

Worst division in football? Yeah, probably.

AFC West
San Diego
Denver
Oakland
Kansas City

I’m kind of rooting for Peyton Manning to succeed, but I don’t think it has any actual chance of happening. Really I just hope he doesn’t wind up paralyzed.

NFC East
Dallas
New York
Philadelphia
Washington

I could see the top three teams in any order, here, but I’ll go with Dallas to take it. Michael Vick is an injury waiting to happen, and the Redskins are just…awful. Dallas gets a lot of points from me for going into New Jersey and winning on opening night.

NFC North
Green Bay
Chicago
Detroit
Minnesota

I wouldn’t be at all surprised to see both NFC Wild Cards come out of the north, but in the end I don’t think the Lions are going to be as healthy or effective as they were last year.

NFC South
Atlanta
Carolina
Tampa Bay
New Orleans

I just don’t see how the Saints are going to be able to be competitive with the bounty stuff hanging over their heads. This should be a pretty tough division, and I think that their troubles are going to snowball pretty quickly. Of course, they could also win the Super Bowl, cause I don’t know anything.

NFC West
San Francisco
Seattle
St. Louis
Arizona

Even with some regression from the Niners, I think they’re the class of the other main contender for worst division in football. Some people are all over Russell Wilson and Seattle for reasons that don’t make any sense at all to me.

And as promised, my Week 1 NFL picks, as submitted to the SAS Eliminator site (home teams in CAPS):

Cowboys +3.5 over GIANTS (I swear I made this before it happened)
Eagles -9.5 over BROWNS
JETS -3 over Bills
SAINTS -9 over Redskins
Patriots -4.5 over TITANS
BUCS +2.5 over Panthers
PACKERS -5 over 49ers
RAVENS -9 over Bengals
BEARS -9.5 over Colts
Falcons -1 over CHIEFS
LIONS -9 over Rams
Dolphins +13 over TEXANS
Jaguars +3.5 over VIKINGS
CARDINALS +2.5 over Seahawks
Steelers +1 over BRONCOS
Chargers +1 over RAIDERS

Categories: NFL Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

